A fractional CMO costs a median of $7,500 a month, based on 23 price tiers published by 11 providers that charge in US dollars. The middle half of those tiers sits between $4,000 and $9,750 a month, and published tiers run from $1,000 for a few hours of oversight to $35,000 for near full-time coverage. Two independent datasets land in the same zone: Go Fractional puts a typical CMO retainer at $7,500 to $12,000 a month, and marketplace O-CMO reports a US and Canada median client price of $8,800.
#How the numbers were collected
On 15 October 2026 I visited about 60 provider sites and pricing guides. Most fractional CMOs do not publish prices. Many pages titled "fractional CMO cost" quote market ranges without stating what the author charges, so I left those out. A provider made the list only if its own page stated its own price. Twenty-six providers qualified: 11 fractional CMO providers pricing in US dollars, 6 in pounds, 3 India-based (one of them a productized GTM service), 1 Australian, 3 other productized services and 2 marketplaces.
I also recorded four rate datasets: Go Fractional's CMO rate benchmark, Go Fractional's 2026 State of Fractional Work survey, O-CMO's client price data and Upwork's hire-cost page for marketing directors.
Rules were simple. Each published tier counts once, at its floor price. "From $X" counts as $X. Currencies are not converted, so each region gets its own median. One-off sprints are reported separately from monthly retainers. Full rules are in the Methodology section below.
#Summary table
| Group | n | Median | Range of floors | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| US dollar price lists, all tiers | 23 tiers, 11 providers | $7,500/mo | $1,000 to $20,000 | Highest ceiling: $35,000 (CMO Grow) |
| US dollar, cheapest tier per provider | 11 | $7,000/mo | $1,000 to $10,000 | |
| Solo consultants (USD, cheapest tier) | 4 | $5,500/mo | $3,000 to $10,000 | |
| Small firms and agencies (USD, cheapest tier) | 7 | $7,000/mo | $1,000 to $10,000 | |
| Productized GTM services (monthly) | 3 | n too small | $1,999 to $5,000; ₹1.5 lakh | Narrow scope, often one channel |
| UK price lists, all tiers | 10 tiers, 6 providers | £4,150/mo | £1,000 to £10,000 | Highest ceiling: £15,000 |
| UK, cheapest tier per provider | 6 | £1,750/mo | £1,000 to £5,000 | |
| India-based providers | 3 | n too small | Rs 1.5 lakh to Rs 7 lakh | One lists $100 to $500 |
| Australia | 1 | n too small | $5,000 to $15,000 (likely AUD) |
| Dataset | Sample | Figure |
|---|---|---|
| Go Fractional CMO rate benchmark (updated 15 Oct 2026) | 52 job posts, 970 candidate profiles, last 90 days | Median $170/hr; middle half $125 to $200/hr; retainer $7,500 to $12,000/mo at about 15 hrs/week |
| Go Fractional 2026 State of Fractional Work | 213 fractional professionals, surveyed April 2026 | CMO average $176/hr; middle half $125 to $200/hr |
| O-CMO client prices (calculated 21 Sep 2026) | Middle 50% of current client prices | US and Canada median $8,800/mo ($6,600 to $13,200) |
| Upwork, marketing directors | Past contracts, worldwide | Median $80/hr; typical $60 to $120/hr |
Hourly rates are rarely published. EAV LLC Marketing lists $150 an hour and Let's Canoe lists $185. UK consultant Shanjay Damani lists £128 to £157 an hour on retainer and £175 to £200 for project work. The Upwork figure is far lower because it covers marketing directors of all levels worldwide, not CMO-level operators.
Price by time commitment
| Time stated | Published prices |
|---|---|
| Up to 10 hours a month | $3,500 (CollisionPoints); $1,000 to $3,000 at 1 to 3 hrs/week (HPZ Marketing) |
| Half a day a week | £3,600 (Limivex) |
| About 1 day a week | $7,500 (JSRG Ventures); £5,000 (Daniel Johnson); £4,800 (Limivex) |
| About 2 days a week | $9,500 (JSRG Ventures); £7,500 (Daniel Johnson); $12,000 to $20,000 at 6 to 10 days/month (CMO Grow) |
| 15 to 20 hours a week | From $7,500 (Moving Minds) |
| 10 to 15 days a month | $20,000 to $35,000 (CMO Grow); from £10,000 at 8+ days/month (Limivex) |
#What drives the price
Time. The clearest driver. JSRG Ventures moves from $7,500 for about one day a week to $9,500 for two. CollisionPoints caps hours by tier: $3,500 for up to 10 hours, $5,500 for 20 and $7,500 for 30. That works out to an effective $350, $275 and $250 an hour if every hour is used, so buying more time lowers the hourly cost.
Whether execution is included. Let's Canoe charges $7,000 for strategy and team leadership and $13,000 when its own team also runs design, web, SEO, paid media and email. Limivex includes a delivery team in every tier. Shashank Shalabh's $10,000 floor covers strategy and team management but excludes hands-on execution. Madelyn Victoria Co.'s $3,000 tier includes three social posts a week and weekly email, which makes it closer to a marketing retainer with a strategy layer. Compare like with like.
Company size and complexity. CMO Grow ties its $8,000 to $12,000 advisory tier to $5 million to $15 million companies and its $20,000 to $35,000 tier to PE-backed or multi-product firms. The Geisheker Group starts at $10,000 and targets B2B firms with $2 million or more in revenue.
Commitment length. Minimums in the sample range from 30-day rolling (Limivex) to 90 days (Geisheker, CMO Grow), three months (Let's Canoe, Daniel Johnson, Madelyn Victoria), six months (MarketingHQ) and eight months (JSRG's Lead tier).
Region. The UK median tier is £4,150. O-CMO's data shows medians of $6,325 for the UK and Ireland, $6,600 for Western and Northern Europe, $5,280 for Central and Eastern Europe and $5,500 for MENA, against $8,800 for the US and Canada. In India, upGrowth charges Rs 3 lakh to Rs 7 lakh a month and does not take engagements below Rs 3 lakh.
What sits outside the fee. Ad spend, software and production are billed separately at Geisheker, CMO Grow, HPZ Marketing, FlairRepublic and Yaniv Goldenberg. Budget for them on top of the retainer.
#Fractional CMO vs interim head of GTM vs full-time hire
A full-time CMO is the expensive option. Payscale's average US CMO base salary is $191,521 a year across 1,072 salary profiles (updated 12 July 2026), with total pay running from $101,000 to $353,000. That base alone is about $15,960 a month before bonus, benefits, equity and recruiting fees. The Bureau of Labor Statistics does not track CMOs separately, but it reports a median of $166,790 for marketing managers in May 2025. Go Fractional applies BLS benefit ratios to that figure and gets a loaded cost of about $19,833 a month.
An interim head of GTM sits between the two. The role is time-boxed, usually a few months, and owns positioning, pipeline and the first hires before handing over. Few providers publish an interim price. The closest published points in this sample are CMO Grow's $20,000 to $35,000 tier at 10 to 15 days a month and Goschedule.ai's Fractional GTM Lead at ₹1.5 lakh a month with a three-month minimum, aimed at seed to Series A companies whose founder-led sales has hit its limit.
| Option | Typical published cost | Time | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fractional CMO | $7,500/mo median | 1 to 2 days a week | Ongoing strategy and team direction |
| Interim head of GTM | $20,000 to $35,000/mo at the high end of US lists | Heavy part-time, fixed term | Building the GTM system, then handing it over |
| Full-time CMO | $191,521 average base, about $15,960/mo before benefits | Full time | Companies ready to own the function permanently |
#When a founder should hire one
Hire a fractional CMO or interim GTM lead when founder-led sales is producing customers but the founder cannot keep producing pipeline alone. The job at that stage is positioning, a repeatable channel and the first marketing hire, not more output.
Hire one when you can fund the fee plus execution for at least three months. Most minimums in the sample are three to six months, and the fee rarely includes ad spend or production.
Hire one before your first senior marketing hire, so someone experienced writes the role and interviews for it.
Skip it when you need one channel run well. Productized services such as The Demand Department ($2,000 to $5,000 a month for outbound channels) cost less than a CMO-level retainer for single-channel work.
#Red flags
- No stated time. Every credible price list in this sample names hours, days or meeting cadence. If a proposal does not, you cannot compare it.
- Leadership and execution mixed in one number. Ask for the split. A $3,000 retainer that includes social posting is not the same product as a $3,000 advisory tier.
- Very low prices. One India-based provider lists a "fractional CMO" tier at $100 a month for two hours. The Fractional CXO guide warns that fees below $3,000 a month can mean a marketing manager using the CMO title.
- No deliverable by day 90. CMO Grow commits to a written growth plan, positioning document and scorecard before month three. MarketingHQ promises a written strategy by day 30. Ask for dates.
- Markups on vendors. MarketingHQ states that partner work is billed directly with no markup. Ask whether yours does the same.
- Long lock-ins with no review point. Most providers here move to month to month after the first three months.
#Appendix: every provider in the sample
All pages checked 15 October 2026.
| Provider | Type | Region | Published price | Inclusions or time | Link |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| The Geisheker Group | Firm | US | From $10,000/mo; $10,000 audit | Both founders, 90-day minimum; ad spend excluded | geisheker.com |
| EAV LLC Marketing | Solo consultancy | US (USD) | $3,000/mo advisory; $6,000/mo embedded; $150/hr | Strategy, ICP, positioning; GTM and sales alignment at $6,000 | eavllcmarketing.com |
| JSRG Ventures | Firm | US | $3,500; $7,500; $9,500; from $12,500/mo. Sprints $3,500 to $12,500 | Two sessions/mo; about 1 day/wk; about 2 days/wk; custom | jsrgventures.com |
| Yaniv Goldenberg | Solo | Not stated (USD) | $8,000 to $18,000/mo | Leadership time; ad spend and specialists extra; 6 to 12 months typical | yanivgoldenberg.com |
| CollisionPoints | Firm | US | $3,500; $5,500; $7,500/mo | Up to 10, 20, 30 hours/mo | collisionpoints.com |
| HPZ Marketing | Firm | US and Malta | $1,000 to $3,000; $3,500 to $7,000; $7,000 to $12,000+/mo | 1 to 3, 4 to 7, 8 to 12 hrs/week | hpzmarketing.com |
| Shashank Shalabh | Solo | Not stated (USD) | From $10,000/mo | Strategy, GTM, team and board reporting; execution excluded | shashankshalabh.com |
| CMO Grow | Firm | Not stated (USD) | $8,000 to $12,000; $12,000 to $20,000; $20,000 to $35,000/mo | 2 to 4, 6 to 10, 10 to 15 days/mo; 90-day minimum | cmogrow.com |
| Moving Minds | Agency | US | From $7,500/mo | 15 to 20 hrs/week plus execution team | movingminds.io |
| Let's Canoe | Agency | US | $7,000/mo; $13,000/mo with team; $185/hr | Strategy and leadership; team execution in tier two; 3-month minimum | letscanoe.com |
| Madelyn Victoria Co. | Solo | US | $3,000; $4,500/mo | Monthly call, social posts, email; website hours in tier two | madelynvictoriaco.com |
| Tom Wardman | Solo | UK | Marketing director from £2,000/mo; CMO £4,700 to £7,000/mo | Not itemised | tomwardman.com |
| Shanjay Damani | Solo | UK | £896 to £1,100/day; £1,000 to £15,000/mo | Senior CMO time; specialist freelancers as needed | shanjay.com |
| FlairRepublic | Firm | UK | £500/day; from £1,000/mo | 2 to 4 days/mo; cancel anytime | flairrepublic.co.uk |
| Daniel Johnson | Solo | UK | From £5,000/mo; from £7,500/mo; sprint from £6,000 | About 1 day/wk; about 2 days/wk; 3-month minimum | danieljohnson.xyz |
| Limivex | Agency | UK | From £3,600; £4,800; £10,000/mo | Half day/wk; 1 day/wk; 8+ days/mo; delivery team included | limivex.co.uk |
| McCracken Marketing | Solo | UK | From £1,500/mo | Fixed price after diagnosis; works directly with founder | mccrackenmarketing.co.uk |
| upGrowth | Agency | India | Rs 3 lakh to Rs 7 lakh/mo; Rs 4 lakh 60-day sprint | 12 to 18 hrs/week operator plus 2 to 3 specialists | upgrowth.in |
| Goschedule.ai | Productized GTM | India | ₹50,000 teardown; ₹1,25,000/mo sprint; ₹1,50,000/mo GTM lead | GTM lead: 3-month minimum, owns motion, pricing, pipeline, first sales hires | goschedule.ai |
| Hire Performance Marketers | Firm | India (USD) | $300 sprint; $100; $300; $500/mo | 2, 5, 10+ hours/mo | hireperformancemarketers.com |
| MarketingHQ | Firm | Australia | $5,000 to $15,000/mo (likely AUD) | Flat retainer; 6-month minimum; partners billed with no markup | marketinghq.com.au |
| The Demand Department | Productized GTM | Not stated (USD) | $2,000 to $3,000/mo; $5,000/mo | One channel; four outbound and content channels | demanddept.com |
| Growigami | Productized | Canada ($) | From $1,999/mo per process; $1,499/mo CRO oversight | Modular CMO leadership plus execution | growigami.com |
| Column | Productized GTM sprint | UK (USD) | $15,000 flat, two weeks | Positioning, messaging, web copy, posts, cold email tests | columncontent.com |
| O-CMO | Marketplace | Portugal, global | Rate set per matched CMO; US and Canada median $8,800/mo; sprints from €3,000 | Month to month, 30 days notice | o-cmo.com |
| Go Fractional | Marketplace and benchmark | US | No list price; benchmark $7,500 to $12,000/mo, median $170/hr | 52 job posts, 970 candidate profiles | gofractional.com |
#Methodology
- Date. Every page was fetched on 15 October 2026. Prices change; re-check before quoting.
- Inclusion rule. A provider's own page had to state its own price. Market ranges in blog posts were excluded even when the author sells fractional CMO services.
- Counting. Each tier counts once at its floor. Ranges such as "$8,000 to $18,000" count as $8,000. "From" prices count as the stated figure. Medians use all tiers; a second median uses each provider's cheapest tier. Quartiles use the inclusive method.
- Currency. No conversion. US dollar, pound, rupee and Australian dollar prices are reported separately. Hire Performance Marketers prices in dollars but is India-based, so it sits in the India group and outside the US median.
- Separated items. One-off sprints and audits, hourly and day rates, and productized services are reported apart from CMO retainers.
- Bias. Firms that publish prices skew small. Larger firms such as Chief Outsiders, Kalungi and MarketerHire do not publish their own CMO prices, so the sample likely understates the top of the market.
- Excluded pages. About 30 pages were dropped because they gave only market ranges: Chief Outsiders, MarketerHire, MarkCMO, Chatter Buzz Media, K6 Agency, Webtonic, Fisher Marketing, Inspired Marketing, Outcome Marketing, NoGood, Revenue Nomad, Fractional CMO Partners, SaaS Consult, Marketri, MarStudio, Winston Francois, VCMO, PrimeWise, Communications Edge, Lilach Bullock, Odyssey Marketing, Sanjay B Consulting, Matthew Deal, Clicks Geek and Digital Authority Partners. Algocentric Digital was dropped because it gave an average ($8,000) with no stated currency. SaaS Hero was dropped because its price list covers paid media management, not CMO work. CallPayMin sells per-minute calls, not retainers.
#Sources
- Go Fractional, CMO rate benchmark: https://www.gofractional.com/insights/rates/cmo
- Go Fractional, 2026 State of Fractional Work: https://www.gofractional.com/docs/2026_State_of_Fractional_Work-Go_Fractional.pdf
- O-CMO pricing and regional client price data: https://o-cmo.com/pricing/
- Upwork, cost to hire marketing directors: https://www.upwork.com/hire/marketing-directors/cost/
- Payscale, Chief Marketing Officer salary: https://www.payscale.com/research/US/Job=Chief_Marketing_Officer_(CMO)/Salary
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook, advertising, promotions and marketing managers: https://www.bls.gov/ooh/management/advertising-promotions-and-marketing-managers.htm
- Fractional CXO, fractional CMO cost guide: https://fractionalcxo.to/guides/fractional-cmo-cost
- Provider pages: see the appendix table.